Wake Up And Live

Family

Posted in Uncategorized by Sarah Skeen on January 11, 2009

I don’t even know where to start this and when I do get going on the subject I usually end up rambling. As some of you know, and some of you don’t, I suffer from depression issues. The holidays and the weeks after have been really difficult for me. My siblings showed such utter disregard for not only my feelings but my daughters feelings as well. And to top it off my brother who was home on leave from Afghanistan tells me that he knows what he did was hurtful and mean and basically said “oh well”. I’m the oldest so I try to understand that my siblings are young and still have growing up to do but I would never have behaved that way when I was their age. I’m having a very hard time not being REALLY angry and it’s keeping me up at night. Sometimes I feel like I’m too sensitive. But I am sensitive and they know this. I’m just stuck in a sad borderline angry funk right now. I need to get out of it but am having a hard time doing so. Sometimes I wish I had been an only child…

Tagged with: , ,

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. melissa said, on January 11, 2009 at 11:42 pm

    I’m so sorry Sarah. You can talk to me anytime about whats on your mind. You have my email, right? I’m a very sensitive person too, so I can relate to that. HUGS.

  2. Lorelei Eurto said, on January 12, 2009 at 6:15 am

    Hang in there Kitten. I know you’ll get through this family crap. I am too, a very sensitive person and although things seem little to other people, they are huge to people like us. I’m here for you!!

  3. Angelica said, on January 12, 2009 at 7:58 am

    I am am only child. There is a lot of mental illness on both sides of my family. I have my problems (I actually admit it, unlike anyone else) and I refuse to let them get the best of me like everyone else in my family has. My family has a shove it under the rug attitude. As a result there is a lot of fighting in my family. True, I don’t have siblings to fight with, but I fight with everyone else. In my family someone will tear you down, stomp on you and expect you to completely forgive them and not discuss it the next day. No one ever completely forgives anyone though so the cycle of anger continues. Plus I was a very sick only child so my parents will forever attempt to control me “for my own good”.

    So if it comforts you at all I know where your coming from. You do have your own little family now and you have try to take comfort in that.

  4. Karen Beth said, on January 12, 2009 at 10:56 am

    I’m so sorry that you have to go through this. I suffer bouts of depression too and sometimes family – while they may mean well – can be the worst thing for it. Be well!

  5. Patty said, on January 12, 2009 at 8:17 pm

    Sarah i can totally relate to u on this issue..(((HUGS)))

  6. Sara T said, on January 12, 2009 at 9:51 pm

    I have found that speaking with many members of my family is counterproductive, since I almost always wind up feeling worse about myself. Because of this, I don’t go home for Christmas, despite their repeated attempts to make me feel guilty about that decision. I send you hugs, and hope that you remember that the way they act is about them, not you. *hugs*

  7. scheri said, on January 21, 2009 at 5:51 pm

    Sarah you are not alone in this, there are lots of us that have depresson, but something i read today gave me hope

    Let me knwo what you think

    It is in my blog titled: feeding the wolf

    http://scheriabstracts.blogspot.com/

    hugs see you on facebook


Leave a Reply

