Wake Up And Live

Giving In

Posted in Uncategorized by Sarah Skeen on December 21, 2008

So, lately we’ve been dealing with the issue of Lily not wanting to sleep in her room. She cries – not the fake crying with no tears – and I always “give in” and let her sleep in our bed and then move her to the pull out couch when we go to bed. She is genuinely scared of going to bed in her room. I’ve tried putting her down there and just letting her scream but I can only listen to so much. She’s a little girl and she’s scared. I can’t just listen to that and do nothing. Until now I thought I was just the mom who was wrapped around the daughters finger but you know what? That’s may be the case to some extent but I also am a mom who doesn’t want her daughter to be afraid of going to bed. So, tonight Seth and I decided that we are going to continue putting her to bed the way we have been until she decides that she wants to start sleeping in her bed again. It’s doesn’t disturb us and she sleeps so well this way. So we are officially “giving in”.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. melissa said, on December 21, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    Good for you! I wouldn’t want my little one to be scared and alone either. I think you’re doing the right thing.

  2. Marjorie said, on December 22, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    You can’t always listen to what the “book” says to do. You have to listen to your heart. And if your heart is telling you your little girl is scared, then listen to it. As long as she’s sleeping well – and you too! – that’s all that matters.

  3. kim said, on December 23, 2008 at 11:35 am

    we always give in. ALWAYS….the alternative is not even an option…even when we have three sweaty babies, two giant dogs, one fat cat and the two of us all in there together….it’s why we upgraded to a King. I look at it liike this…they are only going to be little enough to want to sleep with us for so long. Before we know it they will be grown and then we will look back on these days and wish we could have cuddled them even closer then we did. I don’t want to be an old woman wishing I had hugged my babies closer.

  4. Sarah Skeen said, on December 23, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    Thank you ladies…I feel good about the way we are handling it. And Kim….you put a whole new perspective on it for me! I definitely don’t want to turn into an old woman who wishes she had hugged her daughter a little closer. Thank you!


Leave a Reply

