Wake Up And Live

Dentist

Posted in Uncategorized by Sarah Skeen on December 16, 2008

I don’t know what it is about dentists but even if I’m just going in for a cleaning I get so nervous that I get sick to my stomach. Todays appointment was no different. I knew that the dentist was going to tell me I had to have some sort of work done but I had no idea that it was going to be as bad as it was. I went in thinking I was going to have to get a molar pulled but it turns out I need to have my bottom 2 wisdom teeth surgically extracted and another tooth needs to be pulled. The only positive side is that they will be giving me IV sedation. I’m just worried about the pain afterwards.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. kimbolina said, on December 16, 2008 at 9:32 pm

    oh my! My husband just had to have a molar pulled. Only the freezing didn’t take so he had it done in a more archaic manner. He was quite tender for the next week but only in true pain for a day or two… Whatever you do remember to take acidopholous tablets along with the antibiotics they give you to prevent infection. They are a super harsh antibiotic and they really do a number on your stomach if you don’t take precautions.

  2. jamee said, on December 17, 2008 at 3:49 am

    You are so not alone..everyone hates the dentist. The only thing that saves me is that I have a SUPER nice dentist ..I mean like overly nice. He asks me about every 5 min if I”m okay. I’m so glad he does because for the past couple years I’ve been having a type of panic attack that will just hit me out of the blue..so the dentist is something I’m so afraid will bring it on. I also have a really nice oral surgeon! I’ve had two wisdom teeth removed at two different times..I was freaked..but it wasn’t so bad. I wasn’t put out either.

    As far as pain..just remember to take your pain meds! You will think it’s not so bad and then the numbness wears off and it’s hard for those pain pills to catch up.

  3. lorelei said, on December 17, 2008 at 3:18 pm

    eh. It’s not that bad. really.
    I had 4 wisdom teeth pulled when i was in high school and I was fully sedated. was a bit loopy for a while but was talking on the phone with my friends that very night.
    nothing but a thing.
    you can handle it.
    I’m sure childbirth is worse.

  4. melissa said, on December 18, 2008 at 12:07 pm

    Oh no! Actually it all depends on the severity. If they are sideways and impacted and they need to chip at bone and all…then you might be in some serious pain. If they come out very easily…then it might not bother you much at all. It all depends. I hope for your sake it’s a simple procedure and you’ll heal up and be pain free in no time!
    I still have holes that aren’t closed up yet. Do you know when you’ll be having it done yet?

  5. Marjorie said, on December 19, 2008 at 9:33 pm

    What a shame, Sarah. I’m sure you’ll do just fine but it’s certainly not something to look forward to. Last night I had a crown put on a broken tooth that I was debating whether to save or not. He worked on it for 1-1/2 hours. I have a temporary crown now and need to go back in two weeks to get the permanent one. So expensive! My daughter had her wisdom teeth pulled, not surgically though, and she didn’t have much pain at all. I don’t think she even decided to take the pain pills they gave her. I hope all will be fine with you too.

  6. Angelica said, on December 20, 2008 at 5:48 pm

    Oh, why did I read this? I was supposed to have all of my wisdom teeth out 5 years ago, now they have cavities and I’ve got to do it this year. No one ever mentioned anything about bone chipping!! My upper wisdom teeth are completely out but they grew up higher than the rest of my teeth near the top of my gums. My lower wisdom teeth grew in sideways in the crook of my jaw. One is almost all the way out, the other halfway and all of teeth made holes in the sides of my cheeks.

    In order for me to have them pulled I will first have to drink a pint of vodka, before anyone drives me there, then I will have to be knocked out completely.

    Let me know how you fair, maybe I’ll be able to grown a pair and finally get it done!


Leave a Reply

