Wake Up And Live

The Barred Owl

Posted in Uncategorized by Sarah Skeen on November 22, 2008

We always here owls here and I love the sound of them. The other night we had one so close to the house that when it hooted it woke Lily up. So, I got curious about what type of owl it is that we hear hooting night after night and did some research. I found a site that had recordings of the different owl calls. I discovered that the owl that we hear is a Barred Owl

I’ve never actually seen one but someday I really hope I get the chance to. They are such beautiful birds!

Tagged with: , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. flandrumhill said, on November 23, 2008 at 12:22 pm

    What a beautiful image of a Barred Owl! I love their dark eyes. Although I’ve seen one I’ve never heard one except in recordings. Did you recognize the ‘Who cooks for you? Who cooks for you all?’ in their hooting?
    http://flandrumhill.wordpress.com/2008/10/26/who-cooks-for-you/

    BTW I love the quote at top right about forced cannibalism.

  2. jamee said, on November 23, 2008 at 11:31 pm

    We have owls here on Maui..I never would have thought! But we see one once in a while..in the day! Swoop by in the trees as we are driving on the road. It’s such shocking thing to see..they seem so big and it’s like “whoa! what was that?!” This owl is beatiful! I love the white and the snow.

  3. Tabitha said, on November 25, 2008 at 6:27 am

    I love owls! We have one living in our woods that we hear in the evenings too 🙂


Leave a Reply

