Wake Up And Live

An Early Thanksgiving

Posted in Uncategorized by Sarah Skeen on November 16, 2008

So, since my Uncle Jamie was in town (he lives in Alaska) my grandmother put on an early Thanksgiving this year. There were 18 members of the family…more than had gotten together in years and years. My brother Josh was there which almost made me not go. We haven’t spoken in 3 years much less been in the same room together and it nearly got ugly because of his immaturity. His son was fussy so, luckily for me, they left shortly after dinner and it turned out to be a wonderful day. My grandmother has been wanting a photo of all of her children together for a while so I was requested as the photographer since they were all going to actually be there together. Here is the picture that I got:
siblings
And I also got a picture of my grandparents with their children
family-portrait
Our foster sister Rose was able to be there too so I had my mom take a picture of the sisters together
sisters
And I got a picture of Lily playing with her cousin Connor (they are playing with matchbox cars that have been around since my uncle was a kid)
lily-and-connor
My sister Carie and her sweet boyfriend John were there and came bearing gifts for Lily and Connor
carie-and-john
My mom and stepfather came up from North Carolina which was a nice surprise
howard-and-mom-kissing
And Uncle Jamie the Alaskan was there on his way back from Mexico
uncle-jamie

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. melissa said, on November 16, 2008 at 11:21 am

    Looks like a lovely time! It’s so nice to be surrounded by family. I love the pics and I bet your Grandmother with treasure them! πŸ™‚

  2. Angelica said, on November 17, 2008 at 7:44 pm

    There’s nothing like awkward family moments. It’s hard one person makes get together’s weird. There are a lot of little riffs in my huge family that have caused us all to go our separate ways at Thanksgiving. I hate it I just wish they would ignore the people they don’t like and come anyway. Good for you for sticking it out.

  3. Tabitha said, on November 20, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    okay, is anyone in your family over the age of 30? my god you will age well! πŸ™‚

    i’m glad you were able to enjoy yourself despite the awkwardness.


Leave a Reply

