Wake Up And Live

Egg Donation

Posted in Uncategorized by Sarah Skeen on August 10, 2008

I just noticed that my blog is listed on this site as a blog about egg donation. I haven’t blogged about it since last year when I was going through my last egg donation so I thought I would write about it again for those people out there that are looking for information.

I donated my eggs 5 times and while it wasn’t always easy it was well worth it. The one question I get most is “How much does it pay?” While the pay was very nice ($4500 the first time and $6500 the last time) you will be suprised at how good you feel for doing something so wonderful. I have helped couples start a family! Without a donor they wouldn’t have been able to do it without adopting. That’s huge! I did a donation the year before I had my daughter. After I had my daughter I did another and thats when I found out that the previous donation had resulted in the birth of a girl who was named Lily. My daughters name it Lily. I just think that’s a beautiful coincidence!

You can’t be queasy if you want to be an egg donor. You have to be willing to give yourself injections and have an enormous amount of blood work done. You have to go in for multiple internal ultrasounds and at the end you have to have the eggs harvested. I chose to be knocked out for that part. They go in vaginally with a needle and go through the vaginal lining and suck out all of the eggs. They harvested anywhere from 18 to 32 eggs throughout my 5 donations. Afterwards you will have cramps for a couple of days for which they give you some sort of pain killer.

Once you are matched with a couple and start your injection it takes about a month. The longest part is getting matched and and then getting your cycle synced up with the recipient.

I worked with a wonderful woman named Francis Fox as my egg donor coordinator. She is the head of A Woman’s Gift and she is so wonderful to work with. I definitely recommend working with an agency rather than trying to make a match on your own. The agency takes care of everything for you and makes the donation process a lot easier. Everything is paid for by the recipient including medical and travel expenses. It takes a special person to be an egg donor. If you have any questions about anything feel free to ask!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tabitha said, on August 10, 2008 at 8:05 pm

    you’re right, it does take someone special to be an egg donor. i think you are amazing 🙂

  2. melissa said, on August 11, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    I think it’s such a selfless and wonderful gift to give. I agree with what Tabitha said. 🙂


Leave a Reply

