Wake Up And Live

Are you my mother?

Posted in Uncategorized by Sarah Skeen on July 31, 2008

Lost baby birds always make me think of that book….Are you my mother? I’m not your mother. I’m a human. Poor little baby. My cat Pixie brought this little baby home today. I don’t know how she didn’t manage to injure him but he doesn’t have a scratch on him. He’s scared and crying for his mommy but I did get him to eat and drink.

Update: I put Bird on the balcony in a box and his mother actually found him. But…the baby can’t fly and she can’t pick him up. She did bring him food though. I’m hoping if I leave him out there that she will continue to feed him. It’s just so sad that she can’t bring him back to the nest.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Karessa said, on July 31, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    That picture is heart melting! How smart of you to put the bird on the balcony — I can’t believe his mommy found him! Wouldn’t it be neat if she raised him there? I wonder if he has any siblings?

    I wonder too why Pixie didn’t eat him?

  2. Melissa said, on July 31, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    What a sweet baby bird. It’s amazing that his Momma found him! I had always heard that once you touch a baby bird…themother won’t have anything to do wih it…that is obviously not true in this case! I hope she continues to take care of him/her!!

  3. Tabitha said, on July 31, 2008 at 7:58 pm

    poor little guy! i hope he makes it 😦

  4. Diane said, on July 31, 2008 at 10:30 pm

    That is an amazing photo! And an amazing story. “Are You My Mother?” is in heavy rotation in my home. I hope your story has the same happy ending.


Leave a Reply

