Wake Up And Live

No More Ants in My Hummingbird Feeder!

Posted in Uncategorized by Sarah Skeen on July 24, 2008

So, I’ve had my hummingbird feeder up since late spring and was getting pretty bummed out because I wasn’t seeing any hummingbirds. I saw one but that was it. So I decided to check out the feeder to make sure nothing was wrong with it. Well, when I brought it inside and opened it up I discovered the problem and it smelled disgusting! What looked like a whole colony of ants had climbed in and drown in the nectar. So, I emptied and washed it and refilled it. Well, within a matter of days the same thing happened. I looked on a whole bunch of different sites for a solution and they were all telling me that I needed to buy a special feeder that had some sort of cup over top of the feeder that I’m supposed to fill with water and the ants will drown in. There had to be a simpler solution! And I found one that worked like a charm! Vicks Vaporub! I actually used Baby vicks because it was all I had in the house. You coat the wire that the feeder hangs from in Vicks and it keeps the ants away and the hummers don’t mind it! I have so many hummingbirds at my feeder now that they are fighting over the nectar! I got pictures too!

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tabitha said, on July 24, 2008 at 7:27 pm

    well aren’t you the smartest! good thinking!! i have found that we have to change out the nectar at least once a week. and it’s amazing that they know immediately that it’s fresh and come swooping in.

  2. Zoe Ann Hinds said, on July 24, 2008 at 8:07 pm

    I have a blog all about hummingbirds. The link listed below will take you to a post I wrote all about solving the problem of ants. I hope you will like the suggestions you find there.

    http://hummingbirdsformom.com/hummingbird_feeders/solving-the-problem-of-ants/trackback/

  3. Marjorie said, on July 24, 2008 at 9:52 pm

    Wow, that’s a great idea! I have one of those cups but sometimes when it’s really hot out and hasn’t rained for awhile, the water in the cup dries up and the ants come back. That’s a fabulous shot of your hummer.

  4. melissa said, on July 24, 2008 at 10:40 pm

    Great idea! And no ants have to die…extra plus. 🙂

  5. Jonara Blu Maui said, on July 25, 2008 at 4:26 am

    Yay! what a cool fix! I had an email sent to me once that was about a lady that lived where humming bird migrated to or through..or something like that. But she started putting a little cup of the nectar in her hands and the humming birds got used to her. She woudl have like 20 at a time. Her hubby took pics and they were amazing. Such a cool close encounter.

    I didn’t think we had humming birds here on maui..but at our old house..our neighbors across the street had a feeder and in 8 years of living there..we only saw one a couple of times. But we did see them!

  6. Karessa said, on July 30, 2008 at 6:24 am

    Awesome solution! I’ll have to share that around…I’ve heard people talking about that problem before. 🙂


Leave a Reply

