Wake Up And Live

Blog Challenge

Posted in birthday memories by Sarah Skeen on June 26, 2007

Birthday Memories

I really don’t remember much about my childhood birthdays except that my mom used to make ice cream cone cupcakes.

I think that one of my fondest birthday memories was when I lived in Key West. I was going through a really rough time in my life. I had friends but they were all people that I partied and got high with and nobody knew that it was my birthday. I was working on my birthday at a place called Crabby Dicks in the gift shop. It was so slow so I was sitting outside having a smoke feeling so depressed. I looked up and my friend James was there. He sat down next to me and handed me this really pretty beaded bracelet (which I still have and always will) and said Happy Birthday and gave me a hug. I broke down crying and he sat with me until it was time for me to close up. I later found out that I had at one time mentioned in conversation when my birthday was and he remembered. That Happy Birthday and hug from James was what I needed that day. He lifted me up from a very low place and I will always love him for that.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Christy said, on June 26, 2007 at 7:53 pm

    That sounds like a really sweet birthday memory — even if it was from a hard time.


Leave a Reply

